On the brighter side of things, I have a small list of successes:

This ladybug peplum top, with which I’m very pleased.

20130912-123904.jpg

I used thrifted fabric (of course), and, when i stumbled upon them in a store, bought the buttons to match. I was hoping that Sprout would like it, and she certainly seems to- when I tried it on her today, she wouldn't take it off. I used a self-drafted pattern, and tried my hand at a pleated bib (effective, I think, even though its a little wonky). It is technically a size 2T, but as I was sewing it, it occurred to me that it'll be too cold for her to wear it this winter, so I added an under-piece to the button snap placket so that I can (hopefully) expand it to a 3T for next summer. Provided she hasn’t already become hopelessly attached to it …

I completed the rest of the clothing for the sweet baby boy who’s on his way:

Yet another yoked tunic (my fifth attempt, I think):

20130912-124225.jpg

This one came out beautifully! I think I finally got the length of the slit right, and I’m pleased with the slightly reduced a-line width. My sister (who is my ‘is-this-boy-fabric?’ resource) informs me that the accent fabric is boyish enough for a baby, but probably not for a toddler, but I’m hoping the main fabric (*sigh* striped linen) is masculine enough to make it appropriate.

… And a pair of quick change trousers from Anna Maria Horner’sHandmade Beginnings, and a kimono top from the lovely pattern found at Habitual.

20130912-123921.jpg

